My New Favorite Snack

Hey guys! I hope you had a fantastic weekend.  I worked so my weekend was yesterday and today. I spent all of yesterday with Liam.  He had his 6 month appointment and the little guy is 27.5” and 17 lbs 3 oz.  He’s getting so big!  I’m probably going to be saying that for a really long time Smile  He got shots which is why I didn’t bother taking him to daycare.  The last time he had shots he was zonked for two days so I just kept him instead.  Sure enough, the little guy got a fever and slept off and on for most of the afternoon. 

IMG_7544

He recovered quickly this time though and was back to playing like normal by around 4.

IMG_7604

I’m on a new schedule called a Panama shift where I work 12 hrs shifts but only 2 or three days at a time followed by two or three days off.  It still comes out to 80+hrs every two weeks but a very much rearranged 80ish hrs. This schedule does have some ups and downs.  The days I work I barely get any time with Liam. He’s usually about ready for bed by 7 PM and that’s when I get off.  So I basically come home and do his bedtime routine (he won’t let Dad do it yet) snuggle him and put him to bed.  I really have to fight the urge to wake him up so we can play.  Most of my days off land during the week which is good and bad.  I can take my time in the morning playing with him (he’s happiest at the start of the day), drop him off at daycare around 10-11, get errands done and then pick him up around 5ish.  So it’s a trade off of getting a lot more done but losing out on some time with the little boy.  Ah well . . .

Let’s talk food.  Like I said before, I’m working 12 hours shifts and anyone who has worked such long hours can attest to the munchies they bring on.   I’m not sure why but I pretty much just want to eat and eat when I’m on long shifts.  Maybe it’s because I’m tired too?  Anywho, I’ve been trying to take better quality snacks to work so I one, don’t raid the snack bar and two keep milk production quality up.  One snack that fits the bill is greek yogurt.  So here’s my new favorite snack.

Peanut Butter Mousse

What you’ll need:

  • 1 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 2 Tbsp Chia Seeds
  • 1/8 cup peanut butter
  • 1 Tbsp Honey

First whisk in your chia seeds so they can start to thicken upIMG_7600

Then melt your peanut butter and honey and stir them up together.  I did this in the microwave for about 20 secs.  Then whisk them into your yogurt.

IMG_7602

That’s. It. 

For some reason, melted nut butter whisked into the yogurt really fluffs it up.  The chia seeds just take that to the next level by thickening it even more.  I actually took the recipe and quadrupled it for a bulk container of yogurt and then just scooped from that the whole week.  It worked out perfectly and all that extra sitting time made it uber thick.

If you want to make it a meal, I highly suggest granola and chopped apple on top.

IMG_7603

Alternatively, you could make it dessert and whisk in some cocoa powder and mini chocolate chips.  Enjoy and have a great day!

Do you have a little one?  Do shots knock them out?

Any favorite snacks you’d like to share? 

3 thoughts on “My New Favorite Snack

  1. My favorite snack/dessert is ice cream with walnuts piled on top. I tell my self that the good oils in the nuts lower the glycemic load of the sugar in the ice cream.
    Sometimes I use an entire banana in a small bowl so I can’t pile in as much ice cream. I’m weak, what can I say? 😉
    My youngest goes to college on Aug 22nd. Enjoy your time with your boy while you can. They grow up VERY fast! I used to have hair like that when I was little also.
    Andy

    • Ice cream is my kryptonite so I totally understand and I think the walnuts count 🙂 Oh no, the last one is off to college?! Are you celebrating or crying inside? My mom cried and my dad gave me a high five out the door when I left.
      Red hair is the best I think, My hubs and Dad were both red heads so who knows, maybe my potential other kiddos will all have red hair.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • College is bitter sweet. I’m glad that she is going. Last night my wife said if not for art school she may not be going at all. That didn’t make me feel good.
        The girl is bright but un-motivated and lacks a little self confidence. I guess we were all like that at 18.
        It’s one of those life moments, you have to go with it. You don’t have to like it.
        Here’s to red heads. I’m still trying to figure out if “ginger” is derogatory. It’s better than “carrot top”. 😉

Leave a comment