DIY Turned RIY: My First Pinterest Fail

Hey there friends!  I hope you’re having a great start to your weekend.  I’m currently in Fort Worth visiting some grandparents and hopefully getting some quality study time in as well.  Anywho, as you may have already noticed, I have become quite the Pinterest addict and have a board full of DIY projects I’m excited to try out.  I recently attempted what looked like a super simple project as a Christmas gift for the roomie.  She loves flowers but didn’t really have a place to put them so I thought I would surprise her with a pretty painted vase like the ones below.

54ccd4560e1462ad7070d0e2f26158fa[1]

So I started with her favorite color, lime green and added some Tiffany blue.  At first I really wanted to do some really thin stripes with the blue and then fill in the vase with green but then I hit my first complication.  The paint I got was too thick so instead I did polka dots. Plan B was going to be a lot of polka dots at the bottom of the vase that eventually spread out farther apart up to the top of the vase.  This is how it turned out

Vase1 (1 of 1)

. . . on only part of the vase.  This is the way the REST of it looks

Vase2 (1 of 1)

Soooo, that wasn’t exactly what I had in mind.  I figured out that I picked the absolutely wrong type of paint (I’m pretty sure I picked up fabric paint) and it was just way too thick and heavy to swirl.  I tried using a paint brush and that worked at first but then when the dots were drying most of them decided to drip down a little 

Vase3 (1 of 1)

And some of them actually migrated down the side of the vase entirely or mixed into the green paint after it was applied.

Vase4 (1 of 1)

I’m pretty sure a first grader could have done a better job.  However, just like a proud mama, my roomie has it up on a shelf and reminded me that it’s the “thought that counts.”  I think she just wants some comedic art.

Anyway, so that’s the scoop on my first Do-It-Yourself turned Ruin-It-Yourself project.  I really do have so many projects pinned so I’m certain that this won’t be the last fail you guys see.  Although, hopefully I’ll be able to show you a well done project soon enough  Smile

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

