Ready for the New Year

Hey everyone!  I hope you’re all doing swell and rocking along with the new year. Before I get started I’d like to give a quick shout out to everyone who continued to support me last year whether it was just by sticking with me or leaving a comment.  For the latter I’m especially grateful to my good friend Heather and the fantastic Army Amy. Seriously though, you all are amazing and Thank You so much for your patient following. 

If I had to choose a theme for my 27th year I would probably go with: self-critical.  Although, lonely and stressed also come to mind as well. I really just think the biggest lows of last year can be summed up with four things. 

I made this shadow box with Mocha’s things but I’ll talk more about it in a later post

  • I was selected for a new job that requires me to be away at school for a full year.  This is not something that helps a somewhat struggling marriage that at the time of leaving was barely getting back on track.
  • I’m my biggest critic and my worst enemy (even when I’m the only one that sees anything to criticize). I’m mostly referring to my incessant need to overfill my plate or set my goals TOO high and then beat myself up when I (surprisingly) don’t meet expectations.  It’s such a ridiculous and mentally draining cycle.  I don't know smile
  • I fell off of my healthy living track and I’ve been struggling to find my way back since

IMAG0256

  Of course last year wasn’t all bad though!

  • I was selected for a new job that has amazing growth opportunities

IMAG0371

And I get my very own stethoscope

  • I moved in with someone who has become a valuable friend and someone I can always count on to be honest and sincere with me.  Seriously, I can tell her anything all the way down to “yes, those jeans look terrible” and we’re STILL friends. IMAG0384-1
  • The hubs and I continued to work on things and are doing so so well now.  Even with the distance.  I feel like we leave all conversations smiling again.  We were able to see each other a bit more than I had anticipated for the past year.  I left him in Tucson on Jan 2 and I won’t be able to see him until after I graduate but I’m so excited to start up our life again in March. 

AnW Hike (1 of 1)

  • We got Whiskey a new companion and named her Lucy. IMAG0453

I’m starting to joke that it’s short for Lucifer though.  She’s a full blown 9 month old puppy and is proving it everyday.  The casualty list so far contains:  2 dog beds, a few shoes, countless toys, a uniform top (<-not cheap) and I’m sure some other items I’ve decided to forget about.

IMAG0439

She sure is lucky she’s cute

I’m sure there are some other highlights to bring up but those are my favorites from the year.  Anywho, instead of a single resolution for my new year I’m just trying to reinvent myself.  Because you know I can’t do anything small.  Seriously though, I’m starting with my attitude.  It’s so easy for me to be hard on myself when things aren’t going right but I plan on changing that and building some better habits this year.  My newest habit?

amazing

I’m really trying to do this better.  I want to start approaching my day with the attitude, “How can I make today a great day?”  And when something goes wrong or I don’t do something well, I’m trying to remember to, “Breathe, it’s not the end of the world.  How can I do better next time?”  So far this new attitude is going 12 days strong.  I’ve been in a much better mood and I can tell it’s working so far. 

If you’d like to see what else I’m doing to make 2013 an amazing year, click on the link or the picture below to check out my 2013 Inspiration Board on Pinterest.

Inspiration Board

Was 2012 amazing for you?  What do you have planned for 2013? 

7 thoughts on “Ready for the New Year

  1. “I’m starting with my attitude.” Yes, yes, yes! That’s a great place to start! You’ve had a busy year with quite a few challenges. It’s time for a good/not-so-self-critical year, and start with attitude is the way to go. I hope that 2013 treats you right!*

  2. I can’t tell you how much I enjoy reading your posts, chica… I love love love your Pinterest board and will likely refer back to it to keep myself more positive and aimed in the right direction if you’re ok with that!

    2012 was rough… but you’re tough and spirited and you WILL prevail in making 2013 your b*tch! lol Seriously – I agree that attitude can have such a huge effect on how happy and even how successful you are, and I wish you the best in keeping up the positive outlook. I also think the self critic in you can be beneficial, but only when she’s let in just enough to keep you on a constant path to improvement without beating you up. 🙂

    P.S. I love Mocha’s shadowbox!

    • Thanks so much about Mochas shadowbox! I was afraid it was too sappy but I didn’t know what else to do with the paw pro.t the vet gave us.

      Thanks also for being such a good friend! I hope you guys are making 2013 your b*tch too lol

      • Uh oh… finally gave in and created a Pinterest account after seeing your Inspiration Board here. It already looks dangerous… LOL!

        • It’s a major time-suck! I’ve made so many boards including one dedicated to my obsession with mugs and even made one for Aaron. I’m particularly obsessed with DIY stuff right now since were house hunting 🙂 I’m following you now.

  3. Yep… a new addiction is born… !!! I’m going to have to be careful with this; I’ve been trying NOT to spend so much time on the computer. lol

    Good luck with the house hunting! I love the whole process; looking at houses, getting ideas on improving/decorating, setting everything up and re-arranging 73 times till it’s all perfect. 😀 Hope you have as much fun with it.

Leave a Reply

