Chocolate Cheesecake Protein Shake

Hey all!  I hope you had a great weekend.  I’m going to keep it short and sweet today.

Last week I made myself a white pizza topped off with portabellas, kale and ricotta cheese.  The thing is, I had a lot of that ricotta left over after my pizza was gone.  Normally, I would have turned a blind eye and ignored it in the fridge until it went bad.  (you know you do that too)  However, I’ve been seeing some folks put cottage cheese in their smoothies and claiming it tastes like cheesecake.  Ricotta is pretty similar so I gave it a go in two different shakes and it turns out it’s been a very surprisingly delicious and nutritious addition to my smoothies.  Here’s one I enjoyed after a run on Friday.

choc chz smoothie2

Chocolate Cheesecake Protein Shake

  • 1 Scoop Chocolate Protein powder of choice
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp Glutamine powder
  • 1 frozen banana, chunked
  • 1/3 cup ricotta cheese
  • 6-8 oz milk of choice, add more if you like your shakes thinner
  • Opt:  Greens, chocolate chips, oats

Blend and enjoy!

Nutritional note:  With my choice of ricotta and protein powder, my shake came out to 22g protein and only 1g of added sugar.  That doesn’t count the banana and my almond milk is unsweetened.  Make it however you like!

choc chz smoothie

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

