Seven Years In

So today is my Seven year anniversary in the Air Force.  It’s crazy to me because it doesn’t feel like it’s been that long and at the same time, when I think about it . . . it feels like I’ve been in at least 10.  I’ve been very, very fortunate during my time in the service.  I’m not saying it’s been easy but it has been great and I’ve learned way more than I ever thought I would.  Before the Air Force I was a girl from Indiana who’d never been farther west than Chicago.

Now, this Indiana girl feels like she’s seen the world thanks to being stationed so far in:

  • Aviano AB, Italy
  • Shaw AFB, South Carolina
  • Kunsan/Osan AB, South Korea
  • Davis-Monthan AFB, Arizona
  • Lackland AFB, Texas

C

In all 7 years, this was the worst place I slept thank goodness!

Because of where the Air Force has taken me, I’ve been able to enjoy a beer in Germany,

Germany

Hike in Italy,

hike 8

and run my first Half-marathon in Arizona.

Aaron and Me 3

There have been some really sad times

RIP Rob

but there have been some really great times too.

CIMG4413

MPOY

Not only did I learn how to work in Aviation Electronics

workin-pods

but I’ve been given the opportunity to also become a healthcare worker in the Cardiopulmonary field.

Intubation

Anyway, the past seven years have been fantastic but I’m excited for the next chapter in my Air Force story.  I learned this week that the hubs and I have received our next assignment!  We’re off to <drum roll>

Nellis

Nellis Air Force Base

Which just so happens to be located in

vegas

Yeah, it’s been a great career indeed  Smile

4 thoughts on “Seven Years In

  1. Happy anniversary!! I just hit my 20th a couple weeks ago – holy crap did that make me feel old. lol And congrats on Nellis – so excited for you and Aaron that you’ll FINALLY get to be together again!

    • Thanks Heather! I can’t believe you just hit 20! You don’t look a day over 14 😛 I still can’t believe that we do finally get to be together either. With stability too! I hope we don’t find out we hate living together 😀

Leave a Reply

