Losing Weight on a Gluten-free Diet

Hey all! Hope your weekend has gone just swell.  My weekend has been great.  I hung out with my classmate Shana on Friday and Saturday.  We had a blast with dress & shoe shopping, getting surf and turf, and seeing the Hunger Games.  That was an awesome movie by the way!  Now I can read the books.  I hadn’t read them yet because I didn’t want them to ruin the movie for me.  Do you ever get angry when movies don’t follow the books?  I do so I avoided it. 

This weekend also involved a family luncheon on Saturday morning.  The menu?  Salad, Lasagna, Chicken enchiladas, and carrot cake.  Needless to say, I enjoyed the salad and the lasagna filling A LOT since I didn’t have much choice.  I also got hit with questions of why I wasn’t eating anything.  I don’t like explaining what Celiac disease is every time I eat so I only said that I was on a gluten-free diet and couldn’t eat the food with flour. Though lately I’ve found whenever I only say that, people ask the SAME question.  “Oh, have you lost any weight on that diet?” 

???

I’m sorry, but what?  Do I look like I’m getting hefty to you?  Sheesh!  I didn’t realize there were so many people out there that thought a gluten-free diet was for weight loss and not health reasons.  Just because something is gluten free doesn’t mean it’s healthier or it’s going to make you skinnier.  To me that sounds like saying those fat free cookies are okay to eat just because they’re fat free.

go_ahead_its_gluten_free

[source

That’s plain ridiculous.  I WILL admit though that when I first started out GF that I automatically missed pancakes, pizza, cookies and waffles.  So I went out and got all kinds of GF foods JUST because they were GF. 

gluten free cart

[source]

Sure it tastes good but does this look very balanced to you?  Not to me. It looks like a basket full of uber processed carbs and honestly I was hungry faster and more tired eating this kind of food.  So I want to take a moment to show you how I’ve transitioned into GF and balanced eats.

 IMG_4638IMG_4147IMG_4426IMG_4394

Clockwise:  Fish, rice, green beans; Roasted BBQ chickpeas; hummus and peppers; slow cooker steel cut oats

When I go out to eat I’ve found that most restaurants offer a fish and rice option so that’s what I get.  At home I’ve turned my starches into veggies, oats, rice, and quinoa.  I’m also eating more beans too.  A typical day is

  • Breakfast – Veggie Scramble or buckwheat bake
  • Lunch – some kind of veggie/rice combo or stir fry
  • Snacks – hummus and pepper strips or GF chips, boiled eggs, date ball
  • Dinner – More veggies or a sweet potato w/chicken or fish

Things are still kind of boring as I learn new dishes to make (I’m open to suggestions!) but since I was already eating pretty good before, I haven’t seen any weight loss from eating this way.  I have noticed a huge difference in how I feel and that’s BETTER.  I can’t believe I used to think my stomach cramps and bloat were just my normal. Anywho, I’m off to go finish my weekend chores and study. 

Have a great night!

Are you Gluten-free?  Do you have any meal suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Losing Weight on a Gluten-free Diet

    • Roasted chickpeas are delicious and there are tons of recipes online for different flavors. I’m a big believer in a diet full of whole foods and being celiac has pushed that even farther for me. I will admit that there isn’t as much junk in my diet since I can’t eat many pre-made desserts and that would make the sweet tooths out there lose weight. 🙂 I’m glad your parents have seen such success with their diet change.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

