Hangin’ at Home

Hey all!  How is your week going so far?  Did you have a great weekend?  I’ve been having a good time so far hanging out with my family.  My Mom picked me up on Sunday afternoon at the Indy airport.  Two things of importance happened on that car ride back home.  First:

guy in truck

These four were driving in front of us and I just had to take a picture.  The front of the truck is taken up and this person is huddled in the bed.  Did I mention it was 30* outside?  There wasn’t a door to the truck bed and the bumper is being held on by those two cargo straps.  I’m hoping that kid was holding on to some kind of “Oh Sh*t” handle and thinking,

I pray to God that Dad doesn’t have to slam on the brakes.

The kicker?  That bag to the kid’s right was a coach bag (or at the very least a knockoff).  I guess this means I’m back in Hoosierville now.

Secondly, I met this kid for the first time. 

IMG_4481

He’s my nephew and the very first grandkid on my side of the family.  The last time I saw him, he was kicking my hand in his Mama’s belly and now he’s about to turn a year old!

Anywho, f you’ve explored my site at all then you may recognize these two from the Puppy Love tab.  Here’s Rocco (pronounced Rock-o), the white boxer.

IMG_4500

He’s wearing the cone of shame because of that black streak on his left cheek.  He just had a tumor removed from his face last week and he wouldn’t stop messing with it.  He’s a goofy looking pup anyway. 

IMG_4527

That’s Paris.  All she does is grumble, lick your face, have her way with the couch cushions and look pretty.  For a 70 yr old lady, I think she looks pretty good for her age.

Anyway, I’ve been having fun hanging out with the family and pups.  My nephew has been really fun getting to know too.  Here he is eating and I guess he started a new thing while I was feeding him.  He’s got 8 teeth so far and he kept using them to snatch the spoon from me

IMG_4510

My own eating has been a bit of a challenge since my parents are vegan and I’m gluten-free. We’re making it work though. Workouts are also still happening although not exactly as I had planned. 

Daily Workout:

Required Equipment – 20lb Baby

  • Living room sprints – Hold baby’s hands and keep him standing in front of you.  Then make him feel like he’s the one running.  Go back and forth until he stops giggling . . . which might not happen.  If he does stop giggling move to exercise two.
  • Shoulder presses – Lift baby up and down until your arms fall off
  • 5 min rest – distract him with musical light up toys
  • Baby slams – Squat to pick baby up, stand, shoulder press him above your head and then slam him down on the floor on a dog bed

IMG_4524

ok, ok you can squat down and gently drop him on the dog bed

Repeat workout until he starts doing this

IMG_4558

Put him down for a nap and then take one too because when he wakes up he’ll look at you like this ready to do it all over again

IMG_4565

Last but not least here’s a shout out to Miss Army Amy who conquered the hilly Austin Half Marathon and busted the 2 hr mark with a 1:57.  Awesome job lady!

Hope you all have a great day!

One thought on “Hangin’ at Home

  1. Your nephew is utterly adorable! I’m digging the baby workout. Playing with babies can be exhausting.

    And thanks for the shout-out! It totally made my day!*

Leave a Reply

