Talking Goals

Hey all!  How are you today?  Did you have a great New Years?  Mine was great with one small hiccup.  The bowling alley didn’t serve champagne this year!  New Years = Champagne.  Didn’t they get the memo?  Sheesh, it was still fun hanging out with friends and watching Aaron pull a 222 score out of who knows where.  He sure didn’t know where he pulled that from.  Oh and we both scored raffle prizes:  a free game and a free bowling party for up to 10 people.  That made up for the lack of champagne.  We did end up going to a house party afterwards and someone got a little too intoxicated.  I’ll give you a hint:  if you are comatose, you are unable to type.  Anywho . . .

So it’s a new year and it seems just about everyone in social media is posting about their resolutions that may or may not last the year.  I’m not really one for resolutions.  It’s kinda like a diet.  Once you’re off the wagon, it’s really hard to get back on and before you know it, you can’t even remember how you started.  I prefer goals instead.  Here’s a quick look at mine for 2011.

  • Make the yard more than a dirt patch
  • Complete a marathon
  • Earn 12 credit hrs towards degree

Welll, it looks like I’m 0 for 3. Some people would call that a disappointment (it kind of is) but it’s not like I sat on my ass all year.  I completed 9 weeks (12 mile peak) of marathon training before injury. What a bummer but live and learn. 

IT packet

I also completed 10 credit hours of school this year. 

DSCN0701

I’m thinking that that little “patriotic vacation” of mine, kinda messed with that one a bit. My yard is still a dirt patch but again, the “vacation” interfered. 

This year is going to be different and very DIFFICULT.  I’m going to be leaving for tech school very soon and this course is extremely CHALLENGING.  It’s 6 years worth of training crammed into one year.  You know, another whole year away from home.  Sheesh.  Anywho, my success and happiness is determined by none other than moi, so the goals for this year are much simpler:

  • To finish this year as successful and happy as I can.

Anything else I can accomplish is just icing on the cake. 

Do you prefer resolutions or goals? 

What are yours this year?

4 thoughts on “Talking Goals

  1. I look at resolutions and goals the same way. If you are making them for 2012 and call them goals instead of resolutions, to me they are one in the same.

    I have, what I would consider, a long list of goals divided into personal, fitness/health, professional, and marriage goals. They are very doable and I hope to keep a monthly update on my progress.

    That school sounds TOUGH! Very tough. For my husbands job he’ll be TDY to Colorado quite a bit but that’s just a month here and a month there sorta thing so it really doesn’t compare.

    • True story chica! To me they are pretty much the same thing. The only prob I have with resolutions, is the “trend” of “I need to change myself” and how many people quit within weeks?

      The school has me more than a little nervous but people complete it all the time. It’s prob a good thing I have to do it away from home honestly.

      One of my buddy’s husband has to do TDYs to CO and CA all the time for his job. It’s tough being away from each other so much.

    • Thanks chica! You’re right. It’s going to most def be worth it in the end. Gotta keep my eye on the prize. Good luck to you too! I’m excited to read your back 2 back half recaps 🙂

Leave a Reply

