My House is Annoying

and so are stupid travel induced head colds!  I did want to get caught up on a lot today but I really do just want to lay down and sleep for the next two days.  Instead I’m sucking down an airborne every 4 hrs and trying to get some work done.  Actually, this post right now is me trying to get stuff done.  Procrastination at its finest . . . Be right back 

Anywho, my house truly is annoying.  This is only because I’m not an interior decorator and am with a man who after four years is only JUST NOW letting me decorate how I want.  Not that I really want to decorate or paint anymore because I’m leaving for school in March and will never be able to be stationed in Tucson again.  I digress though. 

My house is annoying because while it is only a 1200 sq/ft home, it is a completely open floor plan filled with huge walls that need filled with SOMETHING.   I even have these alcoves in two of the walls that the hubby and I were really excited about but then we found out that he wanted something Mexican inspired and I was leaning towards the nature end of the spectrum. Oy!  Thinking smile 

So what’s my point?

I want to decorate for the holidays and these spaces are driving me crazy!

Alcove2

IMG_3557

Here are the few holiday touches I’ve put up so far.

IMG_3555

IMG_3556

IMG_3548

IMG_3549

This is what I did with the big alcove.  I like it but I don’t at the same time.  I think it’s all of the white space above it.  It’s driving me crazy but at least there’s SOMETHING there right?

IMG_3551 

My Mom and Dad gave me this candle stick holder when I moved out.  They said I was obsessed with it as a kid so they figured I would enjoy having it.  I don’t remember being obsessed with it when I was little but I do know that it’s one of my fave decorations now.  It must be because it’s shiny Open-mouthed smile

IMG_3552

IMG_3554

Do ya’ll have any gender neutral ideas for decorations?  My hubby and I agree we’d like some metal wall art but we don’t agree on much else after that.  He IS saying I can get what I want now, but I’m paranoid that he’ll hate whatever I get anyway. 

Anywho, I hope you all have a great day!

5 thoughts on “My House is Annoying

  1. The holiday decorations look great! I have zero decorating skills. My apartment has curtains from Target and a large print from Ikea. That’s all the skill I have.

    Do you read Young House Love? That blog has tons of good decorating ideas. A lot of it is renovation related (I skip those posts), but the have good decorating ideas.*

    • I just checked their site out and I’M in love! I can’t believe how much they’re able to do themselves. I showed the hubby and he liked it too. Thanks for the recommendation chica 🙂

  2. Pingback: Not a Food Blog «

Leave a Reply

