There’s Always Time to Exercise

Hey all! How’s your day so far? Mine is busy busy busy.  I’m sure you all are busy too with prepping for your Thanksgiving get-togethers.  On top of everything to do at home, my boss has decided we need to be working 10 hr shifts to get ready for our big inspection.  This means working until 1 AM for me and not getting to bed until right around 3 AM.  Everything at home doesn’t stop though right?  There’s still chores to do, dogs and husbands to feed and socialize with, studying and so on. 

When you get super busy what’s the first thing you sacrifice?  I bet I can guess it’s either

  • Sleep
  • Healthy Meals
  • Exercise

I always sacrifice healthy meals and exercise in favor of more sleep.  Honestly though, you really can fit all three into your busy schedule.  I just want to talk about working out today because I’ve had to change my workout mindset. 

I always tell my friends and family that they don’t need a ton of time to get a decent workout.  They just need 15 minutes and that something is always better than nothing.  However, I’m a hypocrite and secretly felt that if my workouts weren’t at least an hour long, then I wasn’t working hard enough.  If I can’t do an hour then I just won’t even bother.  You know what?  That’s just plain dumb. There ARE ways to get in a decent workout with only 15 minutes and I did one today.  Intervals.

Interval training is basically high intensity training mixed with low intensity training. 

My workout today:

  • 20 Lunges
  • 30 Secs Mountain Climbers
  • 10 Push ups
  • 30 Secs High Knees
  • 10 Knee raises
  • 30 Secs Mountain Climbers

Repeat x 3

See that?  I targeted every muscle group with the three strength trainers and simultaneously worked my heart with several bursts of cardio and by completing the circuit with no rest.  I’m definitely going to have to utilize more of these types of workouts while I’m rehabbing my leg and running around for the holidays.

Do you sacrifice your health for your busy schedule?

How do you “fit it all in?”

I’m not perfect at this mindset yet but I’m definitely attempting to be . . . and now I’m off for work!

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “There’s Always Time to Exercise

  1. Sleep is a non-negotiable, so I do sacrifice nutrition and exercise when I’m busy. Thankfully, I don’t get that busy very often. I try to remember that one day or week won’t make or break me. If I skip a workout, I adjust my schedule to make up for it later.*

  2. I sacrifice sleep and nutrition. I run with a group so exercise rarely gets cut completely but I do let yoga slip when I’m busy. It’s tough to balance it all out, especially at this time of year…

  3. I always try to fit some sort of physical/sweaty activity in my schedule. I give myself a couple days off during the week so I don’t get burnt out or overworked. Lately its been a struggle to know when to really give yourself a break and just have fun!

  4. I love these quickie workouts. Healthy food is easy for me to have since I always have staple on hand, and I’m good about getting at least a 100 workout in… but I will 95% of the time sacrifice sleep. Which I shouldn’t do, I know.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

