Getting Speedy

Hey all!  How are you today?  I’m doing a little better than fine Open-mouthed smile  I’m actually pretty stoked right now and it’s because I just realized how much progress I’ve already made with my running.  The last few weeks I traded my speedwork/plyo Tuesdays for timed 1.5 milers.  I was trying to get my mileage in but still do what I needed, to do well on my PT test.  Which I did!  However, the real test of my improvement came this Tuesday when I did my second set of timed mile repeats.  Do you remember the last time I did them?  I was so slow!

  • Mile 1 – 9:40
  • Mile 2 – 8:09
  • Mile 3 – 8:10(ish)  I accidentally skipped a lap Who me?

but EIGHT weeks later my times were:

  • Mile 1 – 7:13
  • Mile 2 – 7:15
  • Mile 3 – 6:42

Awesome right??? Here’s what I think are the top four contributors:

DSCN2482

    • I’ll get into this more with the muscle imbalance post (I’m working on it still) but making sure my core muscle group and upper body are getting stronger, is basically ensuring that I can run more efficiently
  • I got into a push up duel with fellow healthy living blogger, The Vitamin Bee.  We’ve yet to finish up but things have been crazy for both of us recently.  I’m thinking we may need to have that showdown in a week or two though lady Open-mouthed smile
  • HILLS I’ve been incorporating hills weekly into my runs (they are SO difficult!)

running-up-hill

and there are STAIRS everywhere here!!!

stair climbing

That’s only one of the two staircases to get to my dorm and then I live on the third floor Open-mouthed smile  No wonder I’m getting stronger!

Anyway, I was so excited about the improvement that I just had to share with you guys. Isn’t it great to see your hard work start to pay off?  Maybe that 4 hr marathon isn’t such a pipe dream after all . . . .

Are you incorporating speed work?  Have you seen any improvements? 

Come on, go ahead and brag

Hope you all enjoy your weekend!!!

2 thoughts on “Getting Speedy

  1. I haven’t been doing it lately, but I’m a big believer in speedwork. When I did quarter mile repeats in the spring, I was able to knock two minutes of my 5k time. Sounds like you are doing fantastically! You go, Girl!*

  2. Haha we can finish it soon but whew I’ll admit, I was wiped out after week 5. I just plain quit. But I do want to do it again sometime in the future so I do thank you for that! 🙂

    And HOLY CRAP to those mile repeats! I am jealous girl! You are definitely getting speedy!

Leave a Reply

