Introducing Glutamine

Ok so to most of you actual athletes out there, glutamine is nothing new but I didn’t know anything about it.  I’ve been doing a lot of talking with Aaron about gaining strength and trying to improve my push up score and overall upper body.  When I met Aaron he was very into bodybuilding so I trust his advice.  With that being said please don’t take anything I say as “certified advice.”  It’s based on the experiences of my hubby and my own general research.  If you’re looking to add a supplement to your diet please go to the experts first (certified trainers, doctors, etc.).

I was telling Aaron that my muscles feel fatigued a lot of the time and I’ve been really disappointed in my push up progression thus far.  He suggested I add glutamine to my recovery drinks.  Why?  Well I did some research and came up with this list of benefits:

    • Assists in muscle repair and reduces soreness
    • Strengthens the immune system
    • Maintains the health and functioning of the gut lining
    • Decreases alcohol cravings
    • Decreases sugar cravings and stabilizes blood sugar
    • Helps with wound healing
    • Helps maintain proper acid/alkaline balance <—very important for normal bodily functions (homeostasis) to continue

The very first bullet is what caught my attention.  With the way my training plan is laid out, the only true rest day I have is Friday when all I do is pushups.  Monday is my other rest day but even then I do an abs and upper body workout. 

What is Glutamine?

Glutamine is one of 20 nonessential amino acids.  Nonessential only means that the body is able to produce these on its own.  About 60% of free amino acids are in the form of glutamine.  Our body is normally able to produce enough to maintain homeostasis but under stress our reserves are depleted. Stressors can include emotional distress, disease and/or intense exercise.  However, we can replenish our stores through supplementation.  This can be done with a specific glutamine supplement or with foods.

How does it help?

Glutamine supplementation increases endurance by replenishing glycogen stores under glycogen depletion. It also, aids the production of DNA and cell building.  Without glutamine, your body would be unable to produce the cells it needs on a daily basis.

Where can I find it?

  • Fish
  • Beef
  • Dairy products
  • Eggs and poultry

However, supplementation can be beneficial to those who exercise regularly and therefore deplete their stores more rapidly. 

Ok ok, in the interest of not making this THE LONGEST post EVER, I’ve included all of the articles I read on the bottom.  Enjoy!  So, now how am I going to add more glutamine to my diet?  I went to the base GNC and was able to purchase myself some goodies  Open-mouthed smile

DSCN2483

  • CHIA SEEDS – Words cannot describe how excited I was to find these.  I didn’t think I’d be able to try them out for several more months and I’ve already waited the entire YEAR! 
  • Chocolate Protein powder – Just saying but I LOVE dessert and lately I’ve been thinking a chocolate peanut butter smoothie sounded amazing.
  • Glutamine powder – I’m mixing it into all of my smoothies.  I think I might stir it into oatmeal and yogurt too. 

If I didn’t explain anything clearly (I really apologize!)  just go ahead and leave me a comment and I’ll do my best to answer you or lead you to the right info. 

Do you use any supplements?  Which ones and for what?

Sources:

Have A Great Day All!

6 thoughts on “Introducing Glutamine

  1. I don’t use any supplements, but with all the trouble I’m having with my pushups, maybe I should! And I could use the help with wound healing, I;m the clumsiest person known to mankind, and my cuts and bruises take forever to go away.
    My main problem with the pushups isn’t even that they’re hard it’s that I get this pain/tightness in my chest. Maybe I need to do some chest flys to, and build up those pecs, haha. On the bright side I can kind of see some muscle in my arms, which I haven’t seen since I quit gymnastics 🙂

    • Haha, I feel ya on the clumsiness. My hubby pokes fun at me because I never seem to know where my bruises are from and I always have at least one on me. The elbows are the worst 😀 Oooo and I’m totally stoked about muscles! My boss told me he could see lines in my arms which got me all kinds of excited. Maybe it is working for us and we’re just REALLY IMPATIENT???

      • Haha maybe! I have no patience and always want things to happen right away. I think it’s because I used to be a gymnast and have such strong arms that now I’m frustrated that I was stronger at 8 then I am now. It was all so easy when I was a kid, I kind of miss being good at things with no effort.

        • Haha, I have the same problem when it comes to swimming. I remember back when workouts were 3-4000 meters a day and now I’m exhausted after 1000. It’ll come back to us I’m sure. 😀

    • Oh goodness, the chia totally surprised me too! I seriously thought I was going to have to wait until I get home.

      I’m not really big into supplementation either but I know that they work. I usually try to to stick to more natural options but until I get home, it’s just hard to find the stuff I need here. I mean the grocery store doesn’t even have almond butter!

Leave a Reply

