What a Corny Surprise

I don’t know who I am anymore . . . which is kinda funny considering I just rewrote my About Me page yesterday.  Let’s get this straight.  I am NOT creative in the kitchen.  I’ve been rather adventurous in the kitchen the past year 1/2 and I can follow a recipe as accurately as a chemist with a PhD but I am not a kitchen wizard. I am however a starved student who has been eating somewhere around 2 meals a day and has destroyed something like 14 pots of coffee this week.  So much for keeping things balanced right?  I don’t know who I am anymore.

Anyway, I’ve been trying to take mini breaks every hour or so and what better way than reading a blog or two or four?  I read a couple more before bed last night and I blame this crazy craving on Ashley! I actually woke up to a mad craving for cornbread!  I think I dreamt about it too.  I tried to tell my stomach that it wasn’t hungry and that it’s gosh dern 430 in the morning and what we need is sleep.  My stomach let out a huge growl and suddenly I was glad my roomie hadn’t made it back yet.  (She was out taking care of drunk friends Smile)  I was going in the kitchen.  I totally approached this like I knew what I was doing too.  Mama you would have been proud! Well not initially but you’ll see.  First I thought, “how do I make cornbread?”  With the little blue box named Jiffy.  No, no, that’s not going to work.  I don’t have that anyway.  “Well, what do we have?”  Flour? I have a bag of white flour.  That’s not going to work.  <sigh> I was almost defeated here. 

An idea formed . . . I have plain rolled oats.  What makes corn bread taste corny?  Well, I like to add corn and oil to it.  Then I top it with honey.  I have corn in the freezer!  The chicken me said, “this’ll never work, let’s go back to bed.”  Fortunately the brave me said, “Let’s try it!”

  • 1/2 c water
  • 2 T unsweetened plain almond milk
  • pinch of salt
  • splash of olive oil

Bring all of this to a boil, then add a rounded 1/2 c rolled oats

Once most of the moisture is cooked out, add a handful of frozen corn.  It will cook fast, no worries.

I kept sticking my face in the pot trying to decide if it smelled like corn bread.  Still couldn’t tell and scared me kept saying “I told you this wasn’t going to work”  As soon as the corn was hot I poured it out in a bowl and topped it with a sprinkling more of salt, a pat of butter and a drizzle of honey.  Clicked the camera, “just in case this tastes good”

DSCN1860

Stirred it up and took a big brave bite.  Wait for it . . . <GASP> it tastes like corn bread!!! Yes!  This bowl lasted exactly 36 seconds.  Is it bad that my biggest accomplishment this week besides the 94% on my research paper is this bowl of oatmeal?  I don’t even like oatmeal most of the time.  And it’s not even sweet!?!Who am I???

Maybe I should give zucchini oatmeal a try?  Oh I miss my kitchen. Uncle Sam can I please go home now???

So much for that wait till Monday to blog thing Smile  It’s time to go back to sleep and dream of braver kitchen adventures and A’s on final exams.

Have a great weekend folks!

3 thoughts on “What a Corny Surprise

    • Haha! Thanks Sandy. I think I should prob finish undergrad before I go for my masters though 😀 I need to finish that class in “kitchen confidence” still. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

