Tucson’s Holualoa Marathon

Finally!  I did it . . . Yesterday I registered for my very first marathon.  When I opened my email I found these words:

TUCSON MARATHON

Your order for TUCSON MARATHON

is complete!    

Sunday, December 11, 2011 at 7:00 AM (MT)

and now I am $80 poorer with a big grin on my face.  I’m actually registered so now it’s actually real.  It’s not all just smoke I’ve been blowing.  At least my hubby hopes so, otherwise I just spent $80 for nothing.  I’m so frickin nervous and excited about it too but I know everything’s going to be fine.  I picked out my training plan.  It just needs a few tweaks for the cross-training days.  I pretty much winged my training for my half marathon which by the way is a terrible idea. My longest run prior to the race was a 9 mile run the Monday before.  It was fun but it was definitely the hardest thing I’ve ever done.  So basically, I WILL NOT be winging the marathon training.  26.2 miles is way too scary to do that.  Anywho, I’ll post my plan as soon as it is finalized. 

What plan did you find helpful for your first marathon?

What’s your favorite cross-training exercise?

2 thoughts on “Tucson’s Holualoa Marathon

  1. CONGRATULATIONS SYLVIA!!!! I am so excited for you!!!
    Let me know if you have any questions about anything!
    I made my own marathon plan (I still have it, I can send it to you if you like) but I also found that Hal Higdon’s plans are very helpful and doable.

    Right now my favorite cross training is biking. Do pushups count as cross training? 😉

    • Thanks lady! I actually did settle on Hal Higdon’s Novice one plan. The first long run is 6 mi and I can already do that so I figured it was a good start. I think I want to do a mixture of biking and swimming for crosstraining but I’m not sure if that’s safe. Remember your PT?

      ha HA! Pushups totally count. Look for my challenge post tomorrow 😉

Leave a Reply

