It’s My Birthday

Warning:  This post is SUPER LONG! 

Haha, well my birthday was actually 5 days ago and this recap is 6 days late.  Better late than never right?  I decided that I just wanted a game night complete with Monopoly Deal, Spades, and Euchre.  I am cool like that Smile  I had planned on making Beer-Soaked Fries, Sweet Potato Fries, and southwestern eggrolls.  Instead, I spent my Friday night – Saturday 830 AM on a work project (not what I had planned). My boss back home is also cool.  Don't tell anyone smile   I was so stressed afterwards that I decided to just start on the eggrolls. I didn’t want to make myself get up early and not know how much time I needed AND the methodical nature of cooking is a great de-stressor for me. I ended up not making the beer-soaked fries and made the sweet potato fries an hour prior to the party.  ANYWAY, you didn’t come here to read about how depressing my morning was did you?  I just wanted you to know why I had to go to the party on 3 hrs of sleep and look like a wasted maniac.  Picture time!

Here I am waiting on my eggrolls and fries in the oven. 

 DSCN0805.JPG

I have great friends here and received a few awesome but completely unnecessary gifts in the form of alcohol and sweets.  Military folks eh? Mug  Here is my very short friend May calling me short.  I’m not kidding, this chica makes me feel tall! 

DSCN0815

She gave me an awesome card and some homemade Jack Daniels infused ice cream.  Thanks May! If you would like to know the joke for Wanna go?  You’ll just have to google “Songtan Sally.”  My advice is don’t but I can’t stop you Winking smile

DSCN0817

These guys know the way to my heart.  Don’t worry Aaron, they are very aware I’m a taken woman!

DSCN0821

Clearly the present opening was really intense.

DSCN0816

This guy got me another awesome card that everyone signed.  Thanks T! 

DSCN0820

Not pictured was the bottle of wine, Buttershots and Baileys I received.

DSCN0822

We kept things classy with the red cups.  Not sure what was so hysterical to Chris at the moment.  Perhaps there was a short joke thrown out there?

DSCN0827

DSCN0833

There were some VERY serious games of Monopoly Deal and Spades going on. If you have not played Monopoly Deal, you must! It’s monopoly in card game format, it takes a mere 20 minutes to play and win.  It’s also far more ruthless in my opinion.  I mean you have the option to actually steal someone’s WHOLE MONOPOLY!  Ruthless indeed

DSCN0828DSCN0829

DSCN0834DSCN0836

As far as eats go, there was pizza, sweet potato fries and the eggrolls were a hit.  They were gone in 3.2 seconds and I just barely got my two Open-mouthed smile  I’m ok with that though.  Here’s my blurry picture of the insides.  Trust me they are good and so much lighter than the Chili’s version.  Here’s the recipe.  You’re welcome 

  DSCN0811

The cake was delicious!  Thanks roomie! You did a great job!

BIRTHDAY

It was a two layer butter yellow cake with cream cheese frosting and  marshmallow fondant.  Mmmmm, sooo good.  T managed to switch out her candles with trick candles.  I didn’t realize until I’d blown out the candles and walked away and they lit back up.  Ahhh! Oh no haha, so I grabbed a beer bottle and deposited them all in there.  I think everyone was disappointed that I didn’t put up more of a fight but my cousin Francine played this trick on me last year with 25 candles!   This is what you get for messing with my cake!

DSCN0831

I’m not sure that intimidating look worked with those two clowns in the background.  Anywho, that’s all for the birthday recap.  I turned in at 2 AM exhausted because I am officially old now and need more sleep Open-mouthed smile 

Hope you all have a great Friday!

One thought on “It’s My Birthday

Leave a Reply

