Raging French Toast

Remember this?

Unbalanced Work

Yep still fighting that battle and let me be the first to tell you that I came home in a rage today.  Steaming mad  The rage was brought on by all that red taking over my life.  No, I don’t want to talk about it here because certain people may read it this just isn’t the appropriate forum.  Anywho, I figured out a couple of weeks ago that I most definitely have been struggling with emotional eating.  I get angry, sad, or stressed and next thing I know I’m downing a pint of Ben & Jerry’s or a chocolate bar (or two).  Today was no different only I decided to go with something slightly more wholesome.  I missed breakfast last night (still working nightshift)  and I kept thinking that all I want is a big plate of french toast.  So I came home to have just that.

When I arrived in Korea, it took a lot of homework and examining the aisles of the base grocery store to find some comparable eats to home. One of the hardest things to find though was a decent loaf of bread that didn’t have over 10 ingredients on the list.  I had to think outside the loaf on this one and found these:

DSCN0687

These are tasty and while they do have a more extensive ingredient list than I’d like, these are still real food.  Almost every ingredient is organic and there are no artificial sweeteners.

Ok, let’s make some french toast:

Fill paper bowl with

  • 2 eggs
  • splash of milk/milk alternative
  • as much cinnamon as you like
  • dash of vanilla extract

DSCN0840

DSCN0841

Complicated right?

Mix it all up and grab your first bun.  I actually used two bun bottoms because they were just easier. I then poked the smooth side with my fork all over to help with egg soakage.  Meanwhile, have your pan GENTLY heating.  I set it to med-low.  There is going to be a lot of egg in that bun and you don’t want it to burn before cooking through.  Submerge the bun in your bowl and feel free to press on it to maximize the soak.  Then lift it out and shake the excess off and put it in the pan.  Repeat for other bun.

DSCN0842

 

DSCN0843

After putting both buns in the pan, feel free to poke some more holes in the top and pour a little more egg mixture on top.  I like mine super eggy Smile I then covered it in more cinnamon.  It just makes it better wouldn’t you agree?  After the egg has set on top and the bottoms look golden, flip them.

DSCN0844

Add more cinnamon if you like Open-mouthed smile

When they were done I flipped them onto a paper plate along with some plain yogurt topped with roasted almonds, craisins, and a drizzle of honey.  Plate

DSCN0845

This was definitely a breakfast fit for a chica in a rage.  Just preparing the meal and taking the time to plate it eased my stress a bit.  In fact, I feel much calmer and I’m not guilty at all about what I just shoveled in my face either.  Time to get back to work and maybe I’ll actually be allowed to do some homework too.  I’ll get to that birthday recap soon.  Today I felt French Toast took precedence.  Do you struggle with emotional eating?  What’s your “stress food” of choice?

Hope YOU ALL had a great day!

4 thoughts on “Raging French Toast

  1. Aw I hope you feel better! Way to get creative with limited resources!

    I’m not really an emotional eater and the things I crave the most (salty chips, etc) I just dont keep in the house. That’s the best way to keep myself in check. If I were upset though, it’s not like I’d turn down an awesomely delicious cupcake or fresh out of the oven chocolate chip cookies though!

  2. Haha, right? I totally don’t keep my weakness foods. If I have to leave to go buy it, it’s just not going to happen. However, someone gave me three dark chocolate cadbury bars for my birthday aaaaand I’m having trouble restraining myself from faceplanting into them 🙂

Leave a Reply

