WIBW: Diego Garcia

For any new readers, Welcome to the next installment in my Where I’ve Been Wednesday series. Last week we were in Venice, Italy but this week we’re going somewhere else.  Only reason is that I’m waiting for the hubby to send me all of my pictures from my home PC.  My picture selection for Italy is kinda small over here on my new laptop and I don’t want to shortchange you guys.  Anywho, let’s go to the beach!

Confession Random fact about me first Smile  :  I don’t actually enjoy the beach much.

It’s true.  I’m not a fan of heat and humidity.  Deep water scares me too.  It’s not that I can’t swim, I’m a very strong swimmer in fact.  It’s just the whole “fear of the unknown” thing.  I get nervous in lakes too.

Diego Garcia is the first beach I’d been to that was absolutely perfect to me. I got to visit while on my way to S. Korea and I really could have stayed much longer than the day we were given.  So just where is Diego Garcia?

indoceanIt’s right here, smack dab in the middle of the Indian Ocean.

Diego Garcia is a teeny tiny island leased to the U.S. from the U.K. for a naval base.  It has absolutely one of the most beautiful beaches I’ve ever been too.  The water totally felt like a warm bath and it was super clear.

diego garcia base

DSC00107

You can see the Navy Ships sitting out there.

Diego-Garcia-air craft

DSC00120

new 003

We found this barrel among the dorm common grounds.  <shakes head>  Those silly Navy guys

me on beach

Turns out I do enjoy long walks on the beach.  Aaron, my future-hubby, took this picture of me.  He had noticed me walking along and snapped the shot.  What he didn’t know is that I was hiding on my own at the end of the beach.  You see I bought those shorts when we landed that morning and didn’t think I’d be getting in the water.  Did you know khaki turns see through when it’s wet?  Who me? . . . yeah, anyway

This is actually where I met my future hubby.  I ran into him at a food court and he couldn’t stop babbling about how excited he was about the Guinness.  Apparently, one Guinness was only $.10  yeah really! Only 10 Cents!

DSC00125

He’s kinda cute if I may say so myself Smile  We barely spoke to each other.  I am a very shy chica and only knew one person on this trip.  Here’s his Diego sunset shot.

DSC00124

and my favorite shot from the whole day Sun

DSC00117

It was a very lazy day on the beach.  All I had to do was put my feet in the water and wait to leave.  Not too shabby right? Oh and it’s true! The toilet water really does spin the opposite direction south of the equator! Island with a palm tree

Well that’s all for WIBW today.  I hope you liked the beach as much as I did.  Come back next week to see where in the world we go next Smile

Catch up on previous Where I’ve Been Wednesday posts:

Ok you caught me … Pictures 1, 2, &4 are products of my Google search bar.  If those pictures are yours and you want me to remove them, email me at runner4jhf@gmail.com instead of suing me.  Thanks! 

2 thoughts on “WIBW: Diego Garcia

  1. So excited for WIBW!! WOW! I’ve never even heard of Diego Garcia. It sounds like a persons name! The island looks gorgeous! Bonus points for meeting your hubby there, how cute! 🙂

    How the heck was Guinness only 10 cents?! Jealous…

    You arent alone with not liking the beach. My boyfriend isnt a fan either but I love it. It’s so relaxing! I am not a strong swimmer at all (despite over 7 years of swim lessons) so I dont go out too far.

  2. I have no idea how they get Guinness so cheap since it’s out in the middle of no where but it is an English base so maybe they get some kind of discount? I’m glad I’m not the only wierdo who doesn’t like the beach. I say give me mts any day instead.

Leave a Reply

