Pushup Challenge & June Recap

This post is long overdue.  The holiday weekend also happened to be midterms so needless to say, I’ve been a tad busy.  Anywho, I’m not a big fan of failure but we’ll consider the first challenge an exercise in accepting failure and growing from it.  The challenges are just that . . . a challenge.  (Edited to add:  I finished 180/200 pushups by Saturday) This is definitely one I’m going to re-visit and soon.  For the record, I don’t recommend giving yourself a set number of pushups as a “plan” to start doing pushups.  There are all kinds of ways you could injure yourself.  If you cannot do a military style pushup then I most definitely recommend starting in a modified pushup position.

The easiest one is the wall pushup.  Face a wall or sturdy object and put your hands in front of you in the pushup position.  Then move your body closer to the wall just like you would to the floor for the down beat of the pushup.  When you push back off the wall, you have completed one rep.

Next is the military pushup but this time resting on your knees.  When I am tired during regular military pushups, I like to modify to my knees to finish out my set.  There’s a catch though.  If I’m trying to do say 20 pushups but I can only do 15 and have to drop to my knees.  Well, then I double what I have left and do 10 on my knees instead of 5.  That will usually take me to muscle failure and my arms will be shaking while trying to finish up.

If you are interested in increasing your pushups, I HIGHLY suggest the 100 pushups site or heading to Sparkpeople for a strength training plan.

Now for the June Recap:

I mentioned last month that I was having trouble getting it together and had hit a major slump. I set some goals for the month of June which included posting more, eating better and working out more.

The posting went fabulously.  I managed to get several in ahead of time so I could utilize the WordPress scheduling option.  If you look at those little totals under the Past Attempts menu, you’ll see I did more posts than the last three months combined.  I’ve seen a lot of improvement there.  However, I want to see more.  I’m not exactly off to a good start this month am I? I’m going to aim for 25 posts for July.

My eats were much better too!  Although, I have to give myself some crap for my weekend away.   I ate A LOT of CRAP.  That weekend was filled with a lot of emotional eating which I’m still seeing the effects of.  I never really thought of myself as an emotional eater but I certainly proved to be one that weekend.  However, like I said earlier, the entire month wasn’t a bust.  I discovered that I DO like oatmeal.

DSCN0643

I roasted almonds.  Two flavors there, Salted Honey and Maple Cinnamon

DSCN0694

and I had lots of green smoothies, sweet potatoes and veggie scrambles

DSCN0689

As for working out I think my June 2011 Training Tab speaks for itself.  It’s got some solid workouts in there along with an increase in pushups.  Overall I feel June was a pretty successful month but I feel there is still lots of room for improvement, so that’s what the focus is for July. <—which also happens to be my birthday month Open-mouthed smile

How did June go for you?  Did you accomplish what you wanted to?

6 thoughts on “Pushup Challenge & June Recap

  1. I think I might have to commit to a pushups challenge in the near future. My arms hurt so bad after biking for some reason (might be the death grip on the handlebars).

    Glad you got some more healthy eats in. I really think it makes you feel better when youre eating healthy! Any tips on roasting nuts? I’ve never done it at home!

    Looking forward to reading more of your posts in July!

  2. Congrats on an awesome June! I’m pretty happy with mine, but dreading July – it’s soooo hard to stay on the wagon this month for me because of the heat AND it’s by b-day month (much celebration!). 🙂

Leave a Reply

