Oats are Growing on Me

If you asked my mother she would tell you that I learned to eat from my father.  Daddy SABL and I are very finnicky eaters when it comes to texture.  Tomatoes? Horrible. Onions? Forget it.  Oatmeal? Not one for mush either.  However, I’ve grown up quite a bit in the last few years.  I eat a lot more veggies and <gasp> tomatoes are back on the menu (as long as they’re not tooo mushy/slimy).  I’m a fan of the beefsteak ones now.

Oatmeal has taken a lot of trial and error and while I’m not quite there to saying I Love It.  I can now say “ok I like it alright, I’ll give it another go.” Why am I trying to like something I never have?  Oats are great for you!  It has anti-inflammatory properties, it lowers bad cholesterol, it has cancer fighting elements, it’s CHEAP, it’s natural and it’s basically a superfood.  Well, all that and the fact that every single food blogger I read eats friggin oatmeal!  Have you seen Kath’s Tribute to Oatmeal?  It’s ridonkulous!   I considered boycotting oatmeal just to be different BUT after learning the aforementioned info I figured maybe it can enter my life a little bit.  However, I’ve learned that not all oatmeal recipes are created equal.  I’ve been trying different variations and I’ve decided I like them THICK with a bit of chew.  None of those soft, creamy bowls of oats.  It just tastes like baby food to me and my inner finnicky eater starts to panic.

So, why all of the oats talk?  I used up the last of my peanut butter in a smoothie on Tuesday.  After being a frequent flier at all of those blogs over there <—- I knew there was only one way to use this jar.DSCN0649

It was time to give overnight oats a try . . . and I failed big time.  My first attempt on Wednesday was awful!  I didn’t add enough oats and there was tons of watery rice milk on top.  Ick!  I grabbed about a third of a cup more oats though and left it overnight again.  This time the texture looked right.  I tried them and while I won’t say they were fantastic I will say they were good and that I will give this a go again.  It was fun fishing for the chips and scraping every bit of peanut butter out of the jar.

In the Jar:

a little over 3/4 cup Rolled Oats
1/2c Rice Milk
1/2c yogurt
salt
cinnamon
a few semi-sweet chocolate chips

DSCN0651.JPG

I still hate onions though!  Baring teeth smile

Leave a Reply

