New Look, New Attitude

Well it’s time to admit it.  I haven’t ran in exactly 9 days.  Yep.  I know.  That isn’t very marathon-responsible of me is it?  Yes, marathon-responsible is a phrase.  The hiatus came for a couple of reasons.  One, my right foot was developing a nagging pain along the big toe and it seemed I was doing too much too soon.  Second, I found out that I will not be able to run my marathon due to reasons beyond my control.  I’m not pointing fingers at anyone (—>my job).  Oh well, I volunteered right?  I’ve got to do what I’ve got to do.  Anyway, after being hit with both of those reasons I lost some major motivation for my runs and took a week off to let my foot heal and mourn my lost marathon. 

Of course I’m being a little dramatic.  I haven’t lost my marathon really, it just won’t be when I wanted it to be.  I had to remind myself that life gets in the way sometimes and that I have to stay flexible.  I’m not sure when I’ll be able to do my marathon but I know that it will still be this year (if I have ANY say over it).  While I was thinking about what I’m going to do for my fundraiser and running, I decided I would repurpose the blog.  Running for Joy gave way to something bigger and I’m hoping to continue my fundraising efforts for other groups who need the help.  The Joyful Heart Foundation will still be my first and honestly I would love to be able to do more than one event for them.  We’ll see what happens though.  I do have my sights set on another organization but that will have to wait until next year.  I have big plans for that one (can you feel the anticipation building???).

Also, the blog isn’t going to be just about the fundraising since I have to wait so long to be able to start it back up again.  This will also be about how I manage to keep my active lifestyle and continue my training no matter where in the world I am.  Sorry, still can’t tell you what’s going on (National Security and all that).  🙂 

Well, Mocha is curled up sleeping next to me and she just let out a HUGE snore.  Silly dog.  She’s right though, it’s way way past my bedtime and I have to get up early.  I hope you all enjoy the new look and focus of the blog as much as I do.  Welcome to The Running Advocate!

Good Night!!!

4 thoughts on “New Look, New Attitude

  1. Sorry to hear about your foot and your DELAY in the marathon……I know you will get back to training as soon as you can. I love your outlook on everything. Sometimes, the crazy think called “LIFE” does get in the way when we least expect it!

    Take care Sylvia 🙂

    • It’s so true but just got to keep going right? Thanks a bunch for the encouragement Miss Tonya! 🙂

Leave a Reply

